Episode 15: Fun In Numbers

the-park1(First Timer? Read from the start) 

Saturday, October 11th at 7:41pm:

“Diane, don’t tell me you are going to wear that shawl all night? I didn’t know we invited Ms. Frumpy to hang out.” Cindi gave me the once over as we stepped into the restroom at the Park. We had decided to go there for dinner before our night out.

“Thanks for the compliment.,” I said being facetious, “I know it’s not the cutest shawl but you forget we are already in October.” I continued removing the shawl and continued freshening up my makeup as a guy came out of one of the stalls behind me.

“Hey.” He said as his eyes laser focused on my derriere and now exposed back. Did he expect that I would not be able to look into the mirror and tell what he was doing?

“Hmmm,” was the only sound I could muster in response.  I have always disliked the unisex aspect of this multi-person restroom.  Do the men have to see us adjust our bras or hear us talk about them?! I thought to myself as we walked up the stairs to our table.

 “Looks like Jaz found a handsome distraction.” Cindi noted as we sauntered towards her making our approach.

“Hi.” We both said in unison as Jaz introduced us. After we shook hands, he gave Jaz his business card and went back to his table.

“Good to see you making friends. He‘s cute. I like his Guayabera shirt.” Cindi noted while Jaz shrugged.

“Ok ladies, so I broke down a few hours ago and called George.  I got his voicemail, his stupid voicemail! I am just mad at myself for breaking down. It’s been two hours and he hasn’t even called me back.” She said obviously distraught.

“Jaz, there is nothing wrong with calling him. Even though he is a jerk, you were in this relationship for eight years.  That amount of time cannot just disappear within a week.” I said giving her a hug relieved when she took a deep breath and nodded.

“Oh my, I am becoming a wet blanket! Sorry ladies this is our night of fun! I will buy us all something to drink so we can/I can celebrate being single.” Jaz was motioning to our waiter. “By the way Cindi, I like the way you layered the gold necklaces with the dress. They go well together”, she continued.

“Thanks! I’ve got the appetizers.” Cindi chimed as we all smiled finally in the mood to have fun.

I looked around and noted that there were a few all men tables around us.  Now that Chris and I were looking like we would just be friends I was all about looking for a distraction of my own.

Saturday, October 11th at 10:08pm:

“The line was not that bad.” I commented as we strolled into Layla. By all means, we were a bit early. The only benefit of this was that three women not willing to pay for VIP seats were able to commandeer a good people/guy watching spot near the bar.

“Oh…they are playing my song!” Jaz stood waving her hands in the air as the DJ spun Beyonce’s latest single “Single Ladies”.  I joined her on the nearby dance floor of our compact space by the bar even though hardly anyone else was dancing out in the open. Cindi stayed at the bar and bopped her head from side to side as she handed us our drinks and sipped on her own French Martini.  Too bad they did not make Mojitos.

Unexpectedly, a random guy grabbed my left hand to dance. In turn, I grabbed Jaz’s hand so all three of us could dance together in an effort not to ruin her mood. It was great fun.

Afterwards, he offered to buy us drinks. When the conversation started it was three of us against him as we began to pelt our new, tall and dark skinned friend with just the basics like “Is this your first time here?” and “have you lived here all your live?” or “You have such a great smile, I am sure you must hear that a lot?”  The conversation went really well and had us all laughing throughout. He told us about a Sunday party one his friends planned every third or fourth Sunday at his home in the Potomac. The next party was in two weeks and we were to call and let him know if we wanted to attend. Hopefully, that should be enough time to get to know him beforehand. I am not sure why but my ever so cautious voice in the back of my head was nagging me.  I was always skeptical of meeting guys in clubs.

When he left, Jaz said “Cindi he is cute and more your type than ours”. They had started flirting closer to the end of the conversation.

I thought she was right.

“He did, but I sensed a bit of arrogance and frankly I’ve dated arrogance so much in the past I was beginning to think it was my type. So, I might just hold off on thinking about him as a potential until we meet him again. That is if we go to this party.”

I turned around and it seemed like in a blink of an eye the club had gotten full.  I could tell that by 11pm we would not be able to move. As I am thinking this, the DJ starts playing Amerie’s “One Thing” and we started dancing again and had a great time just hanging out with each other.

Sunday, October 12th at 3:08pm:

Text to Jaz and Cindi: “Home. Me and my achy feet had a blast!”

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

