Episode 14: Back Together Again

u-street-washington-dc

Saturday, October 11th at 12:34pm:

As I was pulling into the only available parking spot on K St. that I could locate after about ten minutes of driving around the block, I got a call from Jaz who I expected was already at the restaurant since she had left her home in Columbia Heights thirty-minutes ago. We had made plans to have a girls-day-out with Cindi and decided to start off with brunch at the new Busboys and Poets restaurant on 5th and K St. followed with shopping on U. St.

“Diane where are you?” Jaz sang happily into the phone.

“I just found parking a block away from the restaurant! I should be there in less than five minutes. Cindi will be about fifteen minutes late since her morning of pampering at the Four Seasons in Georgetown is taking longer than expected.” I said excitedly since I too was in a great mood and just happy to have my two best girls back and available to hang out. It had been over a month or so since we all hung out together. Cindi had been working major hours at her firm getting ready for a trial that was now thankfully going to settle and Jaz found out George, her boyfriend of eight years had been cheating on her using Match.com so she had just taken a break and gone home to visit her family.  Drama!

“Darling, did you get us a table? I heard from my friend Janice that the restaurant was packed when she stopped by yesterday. I was afraid that we might have to wait a while for a table today.” I said while locking my Jeep and walking towards the restaurant. Noticing how much gentrification was already evident in the surrounding neighborhood.

“No worries. I have that department covered. I am at our table now. I figured I would just sit and wait for you both knowing full well how crowded BB&P can be.” Jaz reassured noting our nickname for the popular local restaurant, bookstore and poetry hotspot.

It was great to hear that Jaz was in a better state now that she had been able to visit with her family. Even though she was quick to note that they were driving her nuts and she had to make her quick escape when they tried to recruit her to help manage her brother’s campaign for republican Representative to Congress knowing full well that she was a democrat.

Saturday, October 11th at 12:40pm:

“So, how are you doing darling?” I asked Jaz, “at least you look rested and tanned,” I continued also noting her cute, brightly colored outfit. She was fond of oranges, browns, yellows and other bright colors that went well with her honey complexion.

“I am well and glad to be back. I have some good news but I will wait until Cindi gets here.” She explained while looking around at the artwork around the restaurant. This location is surely now our new favorite hangout!

“Now, I am curious, but I can wait. I need to take a beach trip soon to reinforce my summer tan before my paleness wears in.” We both giggled over my last comment. Being part Jewish and part African-American and leaning more in skin tone towards my Jewish father did not obviously bode well for keeping a natural tan in the winter.

“Hey Divas!” We looked up to see Cindi looking happy and glowing probably due in part to an hour long massage and freshly moisturized face.

Saturday, October 11th at 12:59pm:

“Ok Jaz, we’ve just placed our order so you must tell us your big news.” I asked impatient from waiting.

“I got the lead part in a spring 2009 production at the Studio Theater!” she exclaimed.

“Awesome! I am so glad for you. You definitely deserve some wonderful news in your life.” I noted as we all high-fived!

“Now I am definitely in a dessert mood!” Cindi exclaimed.

“I will second that.” Jaz piped in.

“Can I tell you both a random story?” I said anticipating their full attention. “So, why did I go to Champs with Janice a few days ago and was hit on by a guy named Joseph. I’ve never before been hit on by a guy with the same name as my dad. He was cute, fine and tall with a great smile and a great conversationalist. Just the way I like them, but I could not stop thinking that if we were to ever get intimate and he said ‘who’s your daddy?’ I could never answer him and would have to die a thousand deaths!”

“Whoa! Never thought of that before. Did he have a middle name? You could always answer that, if you ever got to the point where he would ask you this question.” Cindi said while chuckling.

“I have no idea! I just did not want to go there. The thought was nauseating!” I said also not being able to stop laughing.

“Guys in this city suck anyway!” Jaz noted. Thankfully, our chai lattes arrived as a welcomed distraction before she became too sullen.

Saturday, October 11th at 2:38pm:

“Let’s all take my car to U. St.” Cindi noted. It sounded like a plan because after my buckwheat pancakes I was too full to drive.

Our first stop was Dekka, a co-op boutique featuring independent designers and artists.  It is a great place to go if you are a Diva looking for a one-of-a-kind wardrobe addition. And since our goal was hanging out later that night at the Layla Lounge in NE, we definitely needed diva divine stand out in the crowd outfits. So, I purchased a cute, short, navy blue dress from the Yo Soy fashion line with chain links in the back which allowed me to show off my legs. All that yoga had to be good for something!  The color went well with my left over summer tan. Jaz was still obviously hesitant about getting back on the proverbial dating horse but she still could not resist buying a silver, chiseled textured cuff from Golden Plum Designs Cindi being who she was opted for the sophisticated ruffled open front Fiona dress from Moojoo Ken.

We ended the shopping trip people watching for a few hours outside of Mocha Hut. I could not wait for our evening of fun. With the three of us together there are bound to be great laughs but hopefully not too many gaffes.

 

 

One Response

  1. I loved the Fiona dress! Very sexy! Only a couple hundred dollars!

Leave a Reply

