Episode 11: Betrayal Discovery

Friday, September 19th at 7:00pm

“Jaz, do you want red or white?” I asked her grabbing a multi-colored wine glass.

“Red for I am in a pensive mood tonight. Oh I love that glass! Where did you get it?”

“Pier  1.  I must ask, what is wrong with this picture? We are home on a Friday working on an Internet dating profile for Cindi. Shouldn’t we be out on dates ourselves?”

“Oh please girl, what are you talking about? You have Chris and you just need to be patient during these first three months.  You don’t have to be around him all the time.” Jaz pointed out fiddling with the veggies on the stove.

“Darling, and you are dating George. What’s up with you guys lately?”  I started to serve our quickie dinner of veggie lasagna a la Whole Foods. I also looked at her for possible signs of trouble because it always seems like George was never really around anymore. She could so do better.

“Oh we are just there. I think he is out with the guys tonight at some bar or ball game. We are just in the couple-ly state you get to when you’ve been dating for 8 years.”

“Well you need to spice it up because I need something to look forward to like a wedding one day! Ummm …where did you get that fabulous purse!?” I exclaimed handing her the plate.

“Girl, Nido’s in Georgetown. I got like 10 compliments on the way here.” She responded touching her new purple purse with gold hardware. “You should stop by there over the weekend before all the new stuff’s gone.”

Friday, September 19th at 8:00pm

“So how do we start this?” Jaz asked as we both stared at the laptop.

“Darling, my co-worker said that we could go online and search the Match.com database first to see who is on there.  To be honest, I am actually curious as to the kind of guys who participate on this site.” I started the search.

“You are typing 28 to 32 as the age range she would like, but I think she would prefer someone her age or older. Try 30 to 34.” Jaz commented and I typed her suggestions. I ran the search.

“These guys are kinda cute. It’s so funny some of them seem familiar but then again they really don’t. How do you make a decision with so many choices?” I asked while scanning the pages upon pages of pictures.

“I know.  So many.  So cute.  Maybe I should sign myself up!  It’s so interesting how this one guy, BRWNSKNCUTEY looks just like George. Can you believe that?  I wonder if there is a Chris lookalike? This is fun.” Jaz stated while commenting on the various quirky usernames.

“Jaz sweetie, are you sure that guy was not George? Same age, same smile, same height, same job. Can’t believe the he makes that much! Wow! Umm, so what do you think?” I asked, biting down on my lips and waiting without taking a breath. Time to drink some more wine! This is not good.

She clicked back to the profile in question and after rereading and rereading and looking at his other photos especially the one from a few years back of the two of them, only in this version she was cropped out of the shot she stood up unexpectedly. Luckily, I caught the computer in the nick of time before it went flying off the couch.

“Why would he have a profile on this site! Out with his friends? Oh my goodness, my mother was right. I’ve wasted all my ‘good years’ on a cheater! That little S@#$#@$%^W&! How could I be such a fool?”

“Jaz calm down! You have to calm down. I know this is weird but you are going to have to talk to him. This is such a weird situation. Are you ok?”

“How else can I be? Potentially the guy I’ve been dating for the last 8 years has been openly cheating on me. What do women normally do in this sort of situation?  I probably need to take an AIDS test.”

And so she went on and on. What do I do?

Friday, September 19th at 10:00pm

Text message to Cindi: “On Match.com last night with Jaz. Found out George is cheating! Yikes!”

Text message from Cindi: “What the hey?! Where is she?”

Text message to Cindi: “Here at my house.”

Text message from Cindi: “Coming over in a few”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 Responses

  1. […] adivawouldnever wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptFriday, September 19th at 10:00pm. bText message/b to Cindi: “On Match.com last night with Jaz. Found out George is cheating! Yikes!” bText message/b from Cindi: “What the hey?! Where is she?” bText message/b to Cindi: “Here at my house.” b…/b […]

  2. This is getting good!

Leave a Reply

